In an effort to prevent drunk driving accidents , Ohio has enacted very strict laws regarding driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol. Under Ohio law, you can be charged with DUI if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is determined to be 0.08 percent or higher. However, if you’re under the age of 21, you’ll need a drunk driving lawyer near Columbus if a police officer determines that your BAC is 0.02 percent or higher.
A DUI lawyer can build a strong case in your defense. For example, by law, a police officer must have probable cause to pull you over. Probable cause might involve having a witness inform the police that you consumed alcohol before driving. A police officer might also have probable cause if he or she observed you driving in an erratic or reckless manner. Your DUI lawyer may argue that the arresting officer did not have probable cause. Your lawyer may also challenge the results of a chemical test.