• What Minors Need to Know About DUI/OVI Penalties

    The legal drinking age is 21, but unfortunately, it’s all too easy for underage individuals to access alcohol. When underage drinking is combined with operation of a motor vehicle, serious accidents can result. When an individual under age 21 is charged, then operating a vehicle while under the influence (OVI) is referred to as the […]

  • What to Do at an OVI Traffic Stop

    Under criminal law in Ohio, operating a vehicle impaired (OVI) can apply to any individual who is suspected of being impaired while operating a car, bicycle, horse-drawn carriage, or any other vehicle-motorized or otherwise. If you have been pulled over on suspicion of OVI near Columbus, it’s essential that you keep calm and exercise your […]

  • What Are the Penalties for an Underage OVI?

    Under Ohio law, an individual may be charged with drunk driving for having a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. However, individuals under the age of 21 may be charged with operating a vehicle while impaired (OVI) if they have a BAC of only 0.02 percent or higher. Prosecutors treat OVI cases […]

  • Understanding the Differences Between OVI and DUI Charges

    Ohio law recognizes both OVI and DUI charges. If you’ve been charged with driving under the influence (DUI), it means that you’ve allegedly been found to have driven with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher (or 0.2 percent if you’re under 21). If so, you’ll need to contact a DUI lawyer right […]