Before purchasing or carrying a firearm, it’s essential to understand the applicable laws in your state. You may wish to consult a criminal defense lawyer to help you understand how you can avoid the need for a weapons charge defense in the future. A lawyer with specialized knowledge of a weapons charge defense in Columbus can help you ensure that you do not run afoul of the applicable laws for purchasing, furnishing, possessing, or carrying guns.
Ohio has less prohibitive laws than some states. You do not need to apply for a special permit or license to purchase a firearm, including a shotgun, rifle, or handgun. However, you do need to meet certain criteria. You must be at least 21 years old to purchase a handgun, or at least 18 years old to purchase a rifle or shotgun. Additionally, you must not be legally excluded from possessing guns.
You could face a weapons charge if you are thought to have furnished a gun to an individual who is not allowed to possess a gun, or who is under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Except for purposes of education, sport, and lawful hunting, it is illegal to furnish any firearm to an individual under the age of 18. This applies to selling, giving, or lending firearms.
You’ll need to consult a defense attorney if you run afoul of possession laws. While you do not need to have a state permit or license to possess a firearm, you are prohibited from doing so if you meet certain criteria. Adjudicated mental incompetents, drug-dependent individuals, and alcoholics are prohibited from possessing guns. Other individuals prohibited from possessing guns include fugitives and those convicted of certain offenses, such as violent felonies and drug crimes.
Ohio also has regulations regarding carrying guns. Except in certain places, it is not illegal to openly carry a firearm. However, officials urge Ohioans to exercise caution with this right. It is illegal to carry a concealed gun unless you have a concealed carry permit. You must submit an application for this permit to your local sheriff’s office and meet other requirements for the permit, such as providing the application fee. Be sure to renew your permit on time and to notify the sheriff’s office of any change of address.